Largest African-American Book Event in the South


October 24-26, 2019 - 12th Anniversary - Houston, Texas
Location:  Fallbrook Church - 12512 Walters Rd., Houston, TX 77014
Exhibit Hours:  Friday, October 25, 2019 - 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

                        Saturday, October 26, 2019 - 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Authors: To register as a participating author at the 2019 NBBF a 50% deposit of $175.00 holds your table, includes name and link on the
website, w/final payment due within 30 days. As of July 16, 86% of tables are sold. Register here.

Overview     Sponsorship     Exhibitors     Volunteers    Advertising    Media Center     Event Tickets    Contact Us

Corporate Sponsors
Woodforest National Bank


Small Business Vendors
A God-Inspired Boutique


Participating Publishers

BK Royston Publishing


Non-Profit Partners
Speak Your Victory Ministries, Inc


Participating Authors
(Click author name for web site)

African Diaspora
Shyne Khm Yahra


Nicole Clark
Frank Clay
Victor A. Jones
Darius Pettway
Katrina Vantassell


Myran Jones


Deandra Abuto
Angela Adley

Shelita M. Anderson
Petra Auguste
Ameikah Black
Beverly Boone
Elizabeth Brown
Joshua A. H. Burns
Bird Collier
Nancy Devereaux
Yusuf El
Mary E. Evans
Anjeanette Gunter
Josalyn Holiday
LaChanda Huff
Pamela Jarmon-Wade
Belinda Mays
Dara Nichole
Dave Norman
April Spotsville
Shiarnice Taylor
Chavon D. White

Christian Fiction
Sherron Elise
Bonnie Hopkins
JC Miller
LaToya Geter Shockley
Freddie Smith III


William Byrd
Audrey and Larry Jones
J. D. Parks
LaFredrick D. Smith

L. M. Bennett
Mary Danuser
Leon Lanier
Michelle Nicole
Harold Phifer
Crystal Scott

Denna Davis

Kimberly Guess
A. L. Riley

S. T. Rucker

Historical Fiction
Robin Singh


Rhonda Jackson Joseph

Mainstream Fiction

Audrey Brown
Brenda A. White


Motivation/Self Help
Peggy Ferguson

Johnny Franklin
Dr. Deitrick L. Gorman
K. Akua Gray
Keila Harris
Deon Hogan
Harriet Lane
Mecheline Muhammad
Dr. Linda Lou Murray
Jana Starks
Marilyn Walker
Latanza Warren

Rod Sanford
M. J. Simms-Maddox

Grecia Chasteen
Carolyn Hunter
Loud Pen
Lorraine Holmes Milton
Tamara Newborn

Akilah Griffin

F. Renee Hamilton
Brenda Stanley
Roderick Talley


Politics/Social Sciences

Shawnta M. Ball
Gwendolyn Carson
Andrea Gomes
Desolyn Hicks
Latanya M. Hughes
Kahla LaPlante
Vernet Clemons Nettles
Joey A. Perry
LaShundra Smith
Angela Weir

Edwina Fort
Lori A. Hendricks
Angela Monay

Teneka Woods

Science Fiction

Mike Ebow

Urban Fiction
Porsha Deun
Tiera Jones

Samantha Sanchez
Derrick James Thornton



National Black Book Festival News
(Current edition)

NBBF Supporting Authors
[Authors who cannot attend NBBF]
Lydia Brew
L. D. Collins
Dr. LaShonda Jackson-Dean
Shelly Lee
Mandi Rain





















Featured Book

Write It Right: The Guide to
Self-Publishing Your Best Book

by Gwen Richardson

Featured Video of the Week

Support African-American Literature

2019 Featured Authors

Walter Mosley


Sheryl Lee Ralph


Lynnette Khalfani-Cox


Victoria Christopher Murray and
ReShonda Tate Billingsley


Tiffany L. Warren


Joylynn Ross a/k/a E. N. Joy


Brandon Massey


Anita Bunkley




Etan Thomas
Former NBA Player

2019 Festival Hours
Friday, Oct. 25 - 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 26 - 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.


Official Festival Events
All events will be at
Fallbrook Church
(Tickets must be purchased for events with *)

Thursday, Oct. 24 @ 7:00 p.m.
Welcome to Houston Reception*

MC/Hostess Pamela Jarmon-Wade

Special Guest
Larry Dodson,
former lead singer of The Bar-Kays


Friday, Oct. 25 @ 8:00 a.m.
Get Acquainted Breakfast*

M/C - Author Brenda A. White

Marketing Expert Shows Authors How to Maximize Their Festival Experience

12:00 Noon
Power Lunch*

Power Lunch Speaker
Novelist Norma Jarrett


Saturday, Oct. 26 @ 8:00 a.m.
Networking Breakfast*

Houston Author, Shelita M. Anderson


Saturday, Oct. 26 - 10 a.m. to Noon
Children's Festival
Within NBBF


Saturday, Oct. 26 @ 12 Noon
Book Club Meet and Greet

Participating authors meet book clubs
to pitch their books
[Advance registration required]

Festival's Official Book Seller

2019 Festival Partners


new2.jpg (731 bytes)Black Authors Matter T-Shirt
ONLY $19.99 each (XS to XL)
ONLY $24.99 each (2XL to 5XL)

Great for Black History Month, Book Events, Book Clubs, and Year-Round

Subscribe to the NBBF monthly e-newsletter


Captcha email form

Newsletter Subscription form
reload image
Enter code here:

new2.jpg (731 bytes)Become an NBBF
Non-Profit Partner

Fallbrook Church (Brook Sports)
Site for 2019 NBBF

For NBBF attendees who are staying the entire weekend, feel free to worship with Fallbrook
on Sunday @ 8 or 11 a.m.

Host Hotel - Sheraton North Houston


Download the
2018 NBBF Newspaper here

2019 Participating Author Photos   

Rhonda Jackson Joseph   Mary E. Evans

   Shelita M. Anderson  Bonnie Hopkins

Pamela Jarmon-Wade  Brenda A. White

McGowan-Green      Ameikah Black


  Myran Jones      Brenda Stanley

        Dr. LaShonda                                     
Jackson-Dean     Katrina Vantassell      

   Tiera Jones        Darius Pettway

L. D. Collins             J. D. Parks

 Desolyn Hicks      Peggy Ferguson

  Sherron Elise       Josalyn Holiday

      Lydia Brew      Latanya M. Hughes

  Mandi Rain           Harold Phifer

      Angela Adley     LaFredrick D. Smith

Audrey and Larry Jones

Anna Riley           Angela Weir

   Leon Lanier        Victor A. Jones

       Edwina Fort    Dr Deitrick L Gorman

MJ Simms-Maddox     Carolyn Hunter

Dr. Marilyn                           
Francis Walker        Crystal Scott

Workshops/Seminars, Etc.
(Free admission to all seminars)

Friday, Oct. 25, 2019
2:00 p.m.
Social Media 101


Saturday, Oct. 26, 2019
10:00 a.m.
Bringing Out the Book In You

11:00 a.m.
Debt-Free College
Financed With Scholarships

12:00 p.m. (Noon)
The How-Tos of
Self-Publishing Your Book

1:00 p.m.
School-to-Prison Pipeline

2:00 p.m.
emPowHering YOU:
Tips for Finding Your Voice

3:00 p.m.
Publishing Contracts
& Other Scary Legal Issues

4:00 p.m.
Don't Let Your Workplace Stress,
Stress You Out of Work


Create Your Own NBBF Seminar
Details Here

Book Club Central
2018 Participating Book Clubs
Brownstone Book Club
Houston, TX
Chronicles Book Club @
Wheeler Avenue Baptist Church
Houston, TX
Coffee, Tea and Read Book Club
Houston, TX
Cushcity Book Club
Houston, TX
(The) Elite Reading Group
Los Angeles, CA
Fallbrook Church Reading Group
Houston, TX
Go On Girls Book Club Texas 1
Houston, TX

God's Fine China Book Club @
Friendship Community Bible Church
Sugar Land, TX
Ladies of Color Turning Pages
Los Angeles, CA

M&M Read-A-Roos
Houston, TX
Mind, Body & Soul Book Club
Austin, TX
Mommy Network
Houston, TX
Not-Your-Average Book Club
Pineville, LA
Sisters Who Like to Read Book Club
Austin, TX
Sisters Who Like to Read Too Book Club
Austin, TX

Register your book club via e-mail:


Overview     Sponsorship     Exhibitors     Volunteers    Advertising     Media Center     Event Tickets    Contact Us

Privacy Policy